History Mish Mosh: An Introduction

When I was growing up, my mother made a dish we called “mish mosh.” She (and later, I) made it by sautéing onions and sometimes celery, then adding ground beef, garlic, and whatever else we had in the refrigerator.  Sometimes we added canned tomatoes, but not always. We served it over rice or noodles. It was always different, but instantly recognizable as mish mosh. I now make a vegetarian version, a dish made with chickpeas and olives, and flavored with garlic, basil, lemon, and cinnamon. It, too, is always evolving.

I see history this way. It is always different and always evolving, but when we look back at it, we recognize it as history.  The aim of this blog is to examine how history and culture intersect. I am interested in looking at ordinary everyday life, people, and events.  In a 2003 NEH lecture, popular historian, David McCullough said:

History teaches that there is no such thing as a self-made man or woman, that we are all shaped by the influences of others, including so many we’ve never seen because they are back there in history.

I want to try to understand how we are influenced by our culture, and I want to consider how our perceptions influence the way we understand history.  I hope you will join me on this journey, as haphazard as it might be.

And because it’s me, there were also be posts about food, family, and cats.

4 thoughts on “History Mish Mosh: An Introduction

  1. Although I admire vegetarians and appreciate that you have developed a vegetarian version of mish mosh..that is just wrong. Mish mosh has ground meat, period! Love this blog though. Squirel post made me cry. Linda’s family had something called “chicken business’ which was a particular caserole developed by her aunt. Now we call several things that-it is almost a chicken version of mish mosh. Can we please also expand this blog for an occassional dog story too. Zipper should have some fame.

  2. I appreciate your comments, Lori, and I can tell you are a true traditionalist when it comes to mish mosh. Good to know! I love the name “chicken business.” Yes, you are right, Zipper does deserve some fame, and I will work on that.

  3. Merril, You’re trying to make me even more unproductive than I am now by writing a blog I want to read. I am catholic (in the broader sense) about mish mosh- I can go with meat, chicken or vegetables. Olives are one of the many things Ron doesn’t eat, but .but I can see chickpeas, onions, and peppers- or ground beef and whatever is in the fridge. I enjoyed lori’s post because I feel like I know her and Linda. Else. .

    • Else, perhaps I will inspire you to start your own blog! I think the whole point of mish mosh is that it can be anything you want it to be, but we all have our own ideas, perhaps of what it should be.

Leave a Reply

