Valentine’s Day at Our House

Valentine’s Day has never been a big holiday in our family.  Since both our daughters and my husband have February birthdays, we’ve always concentrated on celebrating their special days. (In the past that meant, three totally different cakes, along with a “party cake,” and some type of Valentine’s Day dessert, too.)

 

Even though our daughters are grown and no longer living with us, my husband and I will not be doing much to mark Valentine’s Day. We have a date with Netflix and House of Cards—along with homemade pizza and a bottle of wine.  Cozy, if not romantic, right?

 

To make the day even more exciting, we might have the heater looked at. . .again. Sigh.

 

Romance is great (and I’m a fan!), but it’s the day-to-day things that truly matter. This morning, my husband went out in the ice and snow (that’s a whole other story) to check the tires on my car for me. Then, after a problem with one of the tires, he took it to be repaired.

 

So, perhaps this is not what you think of when you hear “romance,” but to me, it says, “love.” Thank you, Sweetheart.

 

However, since it IS Valentine’s Day, I think we should have chocolate, don’t you?

So I made Chocolate Covered Strawberries. I can pretend it’s healthy, too. It’s a win-win situation! Yay.

 

It’s too simple for a recipe, but they look great, if I do say so myself.  So you know, if you want to impress someone today—just sayin’.

 Image

 I used half a package of Ghirardelli Bittersweet Chocolate Chips, mixed with 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil. Melt in the microwave. You can use semi-sweet, milk chocolate, or even white chocolate (but seriously, why?).  This made enough for about a dozen strawberries plus some blueberries. I rolled some of them in ground almonds (extra healthy!), but you could use other nuts, sprinkles, etc.

 

Of course, then I had to eat some of the extra melted chocolate. . . Enjoy!

 

Happy Valentine’s Day, and thanks for reading!

 

 

 

***Yeah, I got a little exclamation point crazy in this post. I’m giddy from chocolate. I mean chocolate!

 

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day at Our House

  1. We don’t do too much in the way of V day, either, but I might just try to make these today! They looks so good! I love chocolate, like you. They might be nice with a bit of red wine or bubbly! You could also add any extract to the melted chocolate that suits your fancy. Happy V Day, Merril! 🙂

  2. Happy Valentine’s Day. Chocolate can make ants taste good, but strawberries are probably more healthy. This is the one day a year that I get Godiva 🙂 We are going out Saturday night to see Ru Paul and The Red Ball at the Parliament House gay resort for our V-Day celebration. I don’t know what that says about us as a couple, but we are looking to have some fun.

  3. Susan–I’m glad we didn’t make plans to go out with all the snow we’ve been having here, but I’m sure you will have lots of fun! And Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too!
    (Enjoy your chocolate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

