Valentine’s Day Wine and Chocolate: Heritage Vineyards

My husband and I usually don’t do anything special on Valentine’s Day because of all the February birthdays in our family. This year, however, since Valentine’s Day was on a Saturday, we decided to attend a wine and chocolate event at Heritage Vineyards. (This was a New Jersey Wine Trail event, and wineries throughout the state had wine and chocolate events.)

The obligatory Selfie

The obligatory Selfie

We’ve been to Heritage Vineyards before, and we like many of the wines they produce. The vineyard is located in Mullica Hill, NJ. There were three ticketed time slots for the event (also held on the 15th), and we went to the last one, which began at 4 PM. I really know very little about wine, so these are simply my impressions and not a review. After checking-in, we received our glasses, and a woman, who poured us a Moscato Spritz, greeted us with a “Happy Valentine’s Day”. The drink was light and refreshing. We then moved to the Wine and Chocolate Pairing, held in the heated tent.

Wine and Chocolate Pairing

Wine and Chocolate Pairing

The woman who poured for us (I believe her name tag said Kim) was great. She was knowledgeable and friendly, despite having been there since 9 AM. The pairings all worked very well, even though some of the wines were not wines we’d choose to buy. I really enjoyed the Late Harvest Chambourcin, a port-like dessert wine. I’m not a fan of sweet wines, but this was a great dessert wine that worked with the dark chocolate drizzled Oreo. (I’m also not really a fan of Oreos, but it was delicious with the wine.)

I like wine.

I like wine.

We then did the Dry Wine Flight. I don’t know the young man’s name who poured our wine, but he was also very helpful and knowledgeable. I don’t always like Chardonnay. Sometimes I think it has a weird grapefruit taste, but maybe that’s just me. I do like this 2013 Estate Reserve. My husband and I both enjoyed the 2011 Merlot, which to me has sort of a silky feel. The 2011 Malbec was interesting. I thought it had a bit of pepper in the finish. Each wine sample was more than a usual “tasting,” so I have to admit I was a bit buzzed by the time we finished. Fortunately, my husband is not such a lightweight!

Here are the wines in the Dry Wine Flight:

Dry Wine Flight

Dry Wine Flight

After the Dry Wine Flight, we wandered around the Tasting Room/Gift Shop. Although there was a musician, Dave Kelly, who provided live acoustic music, there was no seating available to make the event into a linger-around sort of thing. We purchased a bottle of Merlot to take home with us, and then wandered over to The Truffle Tree chocolate store next door.

When we got home, I made some sweet potato nachos (note to self, slicing potatoes after visiting a winery might not be the best idea). I’m not certain that the sweet potato nachos and the Merlot made the best pairing, but it was great with the Italian Espresso Truffle I ate afterwards.

Sweet Potato Nachos

Sweet Potato Nachos

IMG_2100

Italian Espresso Truffle From The Truffle Tree

I hope all of you experienced something sweet on Valentine’s, too!

18 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Wine and Chocolate: Heritage Vineyards

  1. A tall husband (nice to see him here!) and a tall glass of wine – what’s not to like? A a former Mennonite, I know so little about wine, but I enjoy the phrases that typically surround its description: a fruity note, a silky feel, a nutty finish all sound so romantic.

    • Marian–he is tall AND I am short. I hadn’t thought about the romance of wine descriptions, but you are right!
      I didn’t grow up drinking wine either. We had Manischewitz at Passover. That stuff is awful, like cough syrup. 🙂

  2. It sounds like you had a special Valentine’s Day! I loved reading about your winery adventure. Your nachos are super innovative… Glad your fingers survived, too. I’m not sure if you’re a goat cheese fan, but they go well with sweet potatoes.
    Your take home red and truffle sound divine!

    • It was great, Luanne! The sweet potato nachos are my younger daughter’s brilliant idea. No real recipe. Slice sweet potatoes thinly, season them with whatever you like (I used salt, chili powder, garlic, paprika, and olive oil), place on greased pan and bake at 400 degrees, turning once, until they’re soft and slightly browned. Then place them in an oven dish, cover with grated cheese (I used Monterey Jack/w hot peppers), salsa, and anything else you like and bake until the cheese melts. I made guacamole while they were baking, and when they came out of the oven, I topped them with that and sour cream. They’re delicious!!! (Even my slightly skeptical husband agreed.)

  3. What a wonderful event! We spent a few days in the NY Finger Lakes region this past summer, and we did several chocolate & wine pairings. Interestingly, and to my surprise, the right chocolate and the right white wine can go well together. As for me, I prefer reds, so pairings with chocolate are perfect … and desserts with port are heavenly. …. and port goes well with this chocolate wine cake recipe. … http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/chocolate-red-wine-cake … enjoy!

Leave a Reply

