A Stab at Pie, or Life’s Constants

Monday Morning Musings

Saturday was Pi Day, Sunday was the Ides of March, and tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day. What do these things have in common? Through food and art, my husband and I paid homage—of a sort–to all of them this weekend.

Confession: math was almost my least favorite subject in school. I can’t remember numbers, and I tend to skip over the graphs, charts, and number parts of any article I read. But I do know that Pi is the ratio of a circle’s circumference to its diameter. (Gosh, I hope that’s right.) It’s a constant—that is, it’s fixed and doesn’t change, the opposite of variable. (In case anyone is interested, my favorite episode of the TV series Lost was the episode called “The Constant,” in which we learn that Penny is Desmond’s constant throughout time—and a constant is apparently necessary when time traveling.) Pi is also an infinite number 3.1415. . . .

Here in the US, March 14 is sometimes written as 3/14 (month, day). With the year added, it becomes 3/14/15, so this year Pi Day was extra special.

Pi Day was not a thing when I was growing up. I don’t remember anyone mentioning it or celebrating it, so I decided to look into when Pi Day started.

It turns out that although pi has been know for thousands of years, Pi Day was not invented until 1988 when physicist Larry Shaw of San Francisco’s Exploratorium created it. I found several great articles about Pi Day. This one by astronomer Phil Plait for Slate’s Bad Astronomy blog is a wonderful post of Pi facts, including some myth-busting information. OK, it’s possible I skipped some of the real math in it, but it was still interesting.

Danica McKellar’s Youtube video on pi and Pi Day is also great fun.

So I was going to bake pies on Friday for Pi Eve for my husband, the high school math teacher—because math and pie. If we can have Pi Day, then why not Pi Day Eve? However, it turned out my husband had a school event that night, so I didn’t bake a pie then. We also had plans on Saturday. One of these plans was to see a performance of Macbeth at the Arden Theatre in Philadelphia. (If you’re in the area, it was an exciting and well-staged production, a display of sight and sound. Ian Merrill Peakes as Macbeth was particularly good.) Modern western theater had its inception in the dramatic works of the ancient Greeks, who as I mentioned above, also most likely first calculated pi. And pies were eaten in the time William Shakespeare. So pi is linked to Shakespeare through pie. Or pi is linked to theater. Either way. Are you following me? Anyway, the pies of Shakespeare’s time were often meat pies. Sometimes the pie crusts, called coffins, were merely shells to hold the meat fillings.* William Shakespeare wrote Macbeth, set in eleventh-century Scotland, and he also wrote the play, Julius Caesar, which includes the soothsayer’s line “Beware the ides of March.” Both plays involve tyrants, nation building, and stabbings. Lots of stabbing, lots of blood, and death. Well, they’re tragedies, after all. (See ancient Greek drama.) Pies appear in Hamlet and gruesomely in Titus Andronicus, and Macbeth sees Banquo’s ghost at a banquet, which may or may not have featured pies.

On Sunday, the Ides of March, we went out again. This time, to see the movie, ’71, about an English soldier who gets left behind during a skirmish in Belfast in 1971. It was an intense movie, heart-pounding intense, but very good. As my husband and I agreed, the action took place in Belfast at a particular time and place, and that situation was unique. Nonetheless, many of the themes were universal and could apply to wartime settings during any period in history. As it is set in Northern Ireland, I told my husband it was our St. Patrick movie, albeit a grim one. There was a stabbing in the movie, too.

In ancient Greece, ancient Rome, eleventh-century Scotland, and 1970s Belfast, people celebrated and ate, as do we. It is a constant. As living beings, we must eat to live. Sometimes we eat pie. As humans we are also compelled to create works of art to express our emotions in music, dance, poetry, drama, and visual art. We also have the physical brains and the imagination to make abstract leaps, to think about math and science.

I baked my Pi Day pie (Apple-Cranberry Crumb Pie) on Sunday the 15th of March, the Ides of March. At dinner we had zucchini, which I had “spiralized”. The ancient Romans would not have zucchini or tomatoes, but they did have olive oil and garlic. (Top it with slivered Parmesan.) And zucchini is green, so there you go. Pi Day, Ides of March, and St. Patrick’s Day—connected through history, food, and art.

Spiralized Zucchini sauteed with garlic, olive oil, and tomatoes

Spiralized Zucchini sauteed with garlic, olive oil, and tomatoes

Perhaps my reasoning is circular, but it ends in pie. Sometimes we all need a bit of sweetness in our lives. That’s a constant. Enjoy!

Apple-Cranberry Crumb Pie

Apple-Cranberry Crumb Pie

Apple-Cranberry Crumb Pie

Crust:

I used Mark Bittman’s “Sweet Piecrust” (from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian). Here’s a simplified version:

1 cup plus 2 Tbsp. (about 5 oz.)

½ tsp. salt

1 tsp. sugar

8 Tbsp. butter, cut into about 8 pieces

3 Tbsp ice water, plus more if necessary (I always need a bit more).

Combine dry ingredients in food processor, pulse once or twice to mix. Add butter and process just until the butter is mixed into the dry ingredients. It should look like cornmeal. Bittman says about 10 seconds. I usually pulse it off and on. I keep the mixture in the food processor and add the water. Process only until the mixture begins to come together. Form into a ball and wrap in plastic. Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes. It can be made several days in advance or frozen.

Roll and press into pie pan. I just now noticed he says to refrigerate the piecrust for about an hour before filling. Ooops. Well, I’ve never done that, and it seems to be fine.

Filling:

Apples: I used 4 large apples and 1 smaller one, peeled and sliced thinly. My food processor blade worked well for this.

¾ cup, more less to taste, dried cranberries

¼ cup light brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

½ tsp. nutmeg

¼ tsp. ginger

2 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

Butter to dot top (I’m not sure if this is necessary or not. The recipe I looked at used 4 Tbsp. I used about 11/2. I think you can eliminate it, if you want to reduce the fat a bit.)

Crumb Topping:

¾ cup flour

½ cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

5 Tbsp. butter

½ cup ground nuts (I planned to use walnuts, but I already had almonds ground. Yup, that’s how I do things.)

Combine filling ingredients together in a large bowl. My apples were very bland, adjust spices and sugar to your own tastes and needs. You should have enough to mound into a pie plate.

Combine crumb topping ingredients. I used my fingers to blend the butter in. Cover top of pie with the topping.

Bake at 350° for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. If the top gets too brown, cover it loosely with foil. The pie should be bubbling when it’s ready.

*For a history of pie, see Janet Clarkson, Pie: A Global History(London: Reakton Books, 2009).

I also discuss pie in my History of American Cooking (Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2013).

17 thoughts on “A Stab at Pie, or Life’s Constants

  1. Wow, Merril, I am simply astounded by all these tie-ins to March dates. First of all, I never like math either though I took Trig and Solid Geometry because I was in the college prep-track course in high school. When I taught composition and literature, I would tell my students if they ever saw me behind the window as a bank teller to run the other way – ha!

    A note about “pi” and Pi Day. I don’t remember it being celebrated before this year. But I do remember our grandson Curtis saying (then about age 9) he liked pi and the numbers it represented. [Notice I didn’t say pie though he loves to eat.] When I asked him why he couldn’t really explain, but just said “It’s really neat.” Mysterious and odd, I think.

    Did you read The Life of Pi or see the movie? Either one is worth your time.

    The food photos look appetizing. Chef, historian, blogger, organizer of fun family frolics – wonderful!

  2. And then there’s always Jane Austen, isn’t there? “Good apple pies are a considerable part of our domestic happiness.” I’m with her. Especially as I have an apple pie in the fridge, right now, made by my mother and only half gone….actually I think I better go and protect it…

    • Thanks for the Jane reminder! She probably could supply a quote for nearly anything–well, domestic life, at least. I’m more of a chocolate dessert person, but the pie was really good, if I do say so myself.
      Yes, go protect your pie right away. 🙂

  3. You are so sweet to cook pie for your pi loving hubby. 🙂 I loved math in school. Loved it. However, it never translated over to the sciences. The applied math (physics, etc.) was much more challenging.
    Your pie looks beautiful and the recipe purely divine. It really is apple time – and pear time – which would also work well. I have all of Mark Bittman’s “Everything” books! 🙂 The first one taught me how to cook. He’s inspiring.
    This will sound crazy, but whisk together some eggs and a bit of milk of your choice or cream and salt/pepper, maybe a grain like quinoa, grease a pie pan, mix your gorgeous vegetable creation with the wet ingredients and put in the pan. Through it in a hot oven. Whah-lah; veggie pie. 🙂
    Nice post, Merril. You know I always read your food posts, haha.

  4. WOW! So your pi pie was not a Pi Day pi pie but a Post Pi Day pi pie. LOL! It looks delicious, and the zucchini is beautiful, too. I’ve never even heard of ’71. It sounds like a fun weekend. 🙂

    • Rachel–Post Pi Day Pi Pie! Love it! 🙂
      ’71 just opened here. You’ve probably figure-out we see a lot of movies that are not the most mainstream. Haha. It was exciting though.

  5. Pi(e) day sounds like another great reason to celebrate. Leave it to someone with a math background to come up with this wonderful idea. I know the math and science teachers at our school always get into it. I go along with it – for the pie. I love all kinds of pies. Marilyn, your pie looks yummy. What I miss is my Mom’s chicken pot pie which had a pie crust. Also, I love Shepherd’s pie.

    Our St. Patrick’s Day dinner was a traditional Irish dinner – mustard-roasted chicken, cabbage and kale, and carrots. The only thing missing was an Irish dessert. But we did have a Jameson’s whiskey mixed with ice tea and lemonade. 😉

    • I was going to make some kind of quiche for dinner to have pie for dinner, too, but it just seemed like a bit much to me.
      It sounds like you had a great celebration! (BTW, it’s Merril, not Marilyn). 🙂

Leave a Reply

