3 Quotes 3 Days: Day 1

“Reader, I married him.”

–Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

Jane Dougherty, prolific writer of stories, poems, pets, and life in France nominated me for this challenge: to post a favorite quote for three successive days.

I don’t often do blog challenges, and I have a lot going on right now, but this one seems manageable. And I love quotes!

Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books. I probably first read it when I was about 12 or 13. I read it again in high school, college, and when I was in grad school—when I actually picked-up on some of the 19th century cultural ideas (such as phrenology) that are discussed in the book. I read it again when my girls were little, and then when they were a bit older. Jane Eyre—I guess she’s been a companion through my life. This particular quote has even more significance for me now because my younger daughter chose it to adorn the fan she made and carried as she walked down the aisle during her recent wedding. It is trimmed with lace from my wedding veil. (Pause for everyone to say “awwwww.”) Her bridesmaids also carried handmade fans with literary quotations–totally appropriate for a woman who met her love while acting opposite him in A Streetcar Named Desire and who now teaches English. Jane Eyre is one of her favorite books, too.

Wedding fan.

Wedding fan.

The passage from Jane Eyre continues:

“A quiet wedding we had: he and I, the parson and clerk, were alone present. When we got back from church, I went into the kitchen of the manor-house, where Mary was cooking the dinner and John cleaning the knives, and I said—‘Mary, I have been married to Mr. Rochester this morning.’”

I’m going to nominate only one person on each day, and I’ve tried to pick people who also love quotes. There’s no pressure, and if you choose not to accept the challenge, that is absolutely fine with me. Feel free to pass it along, or not. On this first day, I nominate Marian Beaman: “Former Plain Girl” (turned college professor). Check out her blog.

She has a quotation for every occasion, so I hope she’ll accept the challenge.

Also—sorry, but I can’t seem to stop writing this post–readers may be interested in Malala Yousafzai’s campaign, #booksnotbullets. You can read about it here.

I’ve posted a photo of myself on Twitter holding a copy of Jane Eyre. Of course.

FullSizeRender

18 thoughts on “3 Quotes 3 Days: Day 1

  1. Great choice! I’ve always loved the Brontês. It was more or less obligatory in the place I was brought up, in the foothills of Brontê country and just up the road from the manor house where Charlotte taught, and where she set her novel, Shirley.

  2. I adored Jane Eyre too, when as a teenage girl I found a copy with pen & ink illustrations (gasp!) in my Aunt Ruthie’s bedroom. And certainly I have read it more than once; however, I usually taught Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights because I thought it would be more appealing to male students. Hmmm . . .

    Obviously, your daughter adores the book – and you. Why else would she design fans including that famous quote with trimming from your own wedding veil. I’ll say Awww again here.

    Phrenology has always interested me too. Once in an antique shop I spotted a ceramic head with markings for the various brain functions. “Where would I put it?” was the question I couldn’t answer, so I resisted buying it.

    About the challenge. I am honored, but your invitation made me realize that I skipped posting Purple Passages for June because I couldn’t keep up. Feel free to nominate someone else; I probably need to get crackin’ with my July edition though I appreciate the recognition here. And yes, I do love quotes. I found two choice quotes on this website today: https://jennsmidlifecrisis.wordpress.com/2015/07/10/an-embarrassing-father-daughter-moment/

    • Thank you for the comment, Marian. You made me laugh with the “gasp.”
      No worries about passing on the challenge. I completely understand about having too much to do. I probably shouldn’t be doing the quotation challenge either, but. . .oh well. 🙂

  3. Lovely photo and the image of your daughter’s veiled trimmed with lace from your own wedding is lovely too. Yes, who has not been affected by the Bronte sisters …

  4. Beautiful! Your daughter’s wedding sounds just lovely. Sorry that I’m just catching up. A think a swarm of butterflies has been fluttering around inside my head for the last week and I’ve been all over the shop. That could well be an Australianism but it means all over the place xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

