3 Quotes 3 Days: Day 2

“When he was nearly thirteen, my brother Jem got his arm badly broken at the elbow. When it healed, and Jem’s fears of never being able to play football were assuaged, he was seldom self-conscious about his injury. His left arm was somewhat shorter than his right; when he stood or walked, the back of his hand was at right angles to his body, his thumb parallel to his thigh. He couldn’t have cared less, so long as he could pass or punt. When enough years had gone by to enable us to look back on them, we sometimes discussed the events leading to his accident. I maintain that the Ewells started it all, but Jem, who was four years my senior, said it started long before that. He said it began the summer Dill came to us, when Dill first gave us the idea of making Boo Radley come out…”

–Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

There are many famous and memorable lines from To Kill a Mockingbird, but this is the novel’s opening paragraph.  I’ve read the book several times, but reading these lines make me want to read it all over again. Like many others, I’ve followed the news of Lee’s “new” book—to be released on Tuesday—that is a sequel to the story, although it was actually written before Mockingbird. Go Set a Watchman, from what I’ve read about it, is different in tone and voice from To Kill A Mockingbird; the characters are different, too, as they have changed over time. It will be interesting to read it. No matter what I think of Watchman though, it will not—and does not—detract from the magnificence of Mockingbird. Scout, Atticus, Boo Radley and the rest hold a dear place in my heart, as they do in the hearts of nearly everyone who has read the novel. (The movie, with Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch and Robert Duvall in his film debut as Boo Radley, is also wonderful.)

This is Day 2 of the 3 Quotes 3 Days Challenge. Jane Dougherty, prolific writer of stories and poems, nominated me for this challenge: to post a favorite quote for three successive days.

I nominate Rachel Carrera. Feel free to accept or not. Check out Rachel’s blog, which is filled with wonderful stories of her life, posts on autism awareness, “intense” fictional stories, and her own brand of quirky humor.

Embed from Getty Images
17 thoughts on “3 Quotes 3 Days: Day 2

  1. I have read To Kill a Mockingbird, and I have seen the film. But I can’t remember a thing about it except isn’t there a bit about a rabid dog? It’s a good opening paragraph, I’ll give you that. I’d read it on the strength of that.

    • Yes, there is a part with a rabid dog! It’s a very vivid scene in the movie.
      The book is considered to be an American classic–there are all sorts of events going on at bookstores to celebrate it and the release of the second book.
      When I looked at the opening again, Jane, that’s what I thought too.

  2. I thought I had it – the book I mean, though I haven’t read it. But it’s not on my bookshelf. I know about it of course, and will try to get it. I’m aware of the hoopla around her sequel … thank you for the push to add to my reading list Merril.

  3. Oh, wow, you sucked me in with the To Kill A Mockingbird quote, then to find out I was the nominee! How exciting! (And thank you very much!) I loved this book when I had to read it in school, and I loved it again when I had to read it out loud to my son when he was in school. If you wouldn’t have tagged me for this, I was ready to share my own favorite quote from this one, but now, I think I’ll wait… 😉

  4. I am really looking forward to reading the “new” book although my pile is only getting higher, twisting and dare I say, falling down before I get any further with it.

    • The new book, The World of the American Revolution, is a 2-volume encyclopedia, so probably something you won’t read. However, if you do, I’d love it. 🙂 Feel free to recommend it to your library. I just got word it will be out the end of August!

  5. Pingback: Three Quotes, Three Days, Day One | Rachel Carrera, Novelist

  6. Pingback: Three Quotes, Three Days, Day Two | Rachel Carrera, Novelist

  7. Pingback: Three Quotes, Three Days, Day Three | Rachel Carrera, Novelist

Leave a Reply

