Flowers and Books, Two Hourglass Poems

These are for Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge. The poems are in the shape of an hourglass. Syllables: 5,4,3,2,1,2,3,4,5

 

IMG_3458

Flowers Wake

Flowers wake, the sun

calling them, Come

Arise, You!

Unfurl

buds

dormant

through winter

Dance gently now

Nascent warmth of spring.

 

Interesting Literature posted this article about the Prague Library statue, Idiom, often referred to by such names as Book Tower or Book Vortex.

Word Vortex

Novels, poetry,

a word vortex

stacked skyward

thoughts soar

book

a time

for quiet

reflection of

life in prose and verse

26 thoughts on “Flowers and Books, Two Hourglass Poems

  1. I like these, especially the first one and the commanding voice off stage. Funny how in the second one your word choice produced an odd shape. The same number of syllables can produce words of completely different lengths.

  2. They are both beautiful. You never cease to amaze, Merril. Jane too!

    I clicked on the link to the book tower in Prague. How I wish I had known about it when we visited Czech Republic in 2006.

    From your suggestion in the first poem, I shall Arise and check out the azaleas on my patio. Thank you!

  3. Books and flowers! You can’t go wrong. πŸ™‚ I love that the shape of the second one is very tower-like.

  4. Both are beautiful in words and shape. I admire your talented play with words, and how you captured the way the sun makes demands on spring growth. I also enjoyed the article and the look at Idiom. The tower is pretty awesome. That led me to the link where I learned that the Japanese word for β€˜buying a load of books and then not getting round to reading them’ is tsundoku. I needed a word for that. πŸ˜€

    • Thanks so much, Robin. I also enjoyed that article with the Japanese word, and some others, as well. I have a whole bunch of books on my Kindle that I have just in case I don’t have anything to read, and then I go to the library and get out a stack of books–but you know, it’s important to have backups! πŸ™‚

  5. Nice job, Merril. I love the image of the flowers awakening. Do you like writing shape poems? I never really took to writing them, but I do like writing constraints, so I’m not sure why!

  6. I enjoyed these hourglasses. The voice of the sun added great momentum to the first one. And the second had a feeling of solidity which seemed to fit the topic perfectly.

  7. Pingback: Poetry challenge Hourglass poems: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

