NaPoWriMo: Eating a Rainbow

11794190_1018698988143364_5525884205557683035_o

From a local farm stand, Summer 2015

Eating a rainbow, a summer joy,

tomatoes, red and yellow, ripe

basil-topped with olive oil

heady fragrance, swooning

with peach juice dripping

down my chin, corn

silver queen,

toasted

to

a

golden

brown, flavors

scents, colors of

summer, heat rising,

thunder and lightening, bring

rainbows after, hues, tastes, scents

of sun and earth, bitter and sweet,

merging of senses in my kitchen

 

NaPoWriMo, Day 5.  The “eating a rainbow” line came from a seed catalogue in today’s prompts. We had snow flurries this morning, so it was pleasant to daydream of summer.

This started out as a nonet, but I couldn’t stop.

 

 

27 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo: Eating a Rainbow

    • Thanks so much, Marian.
      I’m all bundled up in layers today. I know in a few months I’ll be complaining about the heat, but something in between snow and extreme heat would be nice. 🙂

  1. This is so odd. I’ve never heard this saying …. that is, Eating a Rainbow … (neither has my wife). … BUT … I heard it for the first time this past Saturday at Wellness seminar event. … and now this post! Hmmmm ….

Leave a Reply

