NaPoWriMo: Defining Fortune

 

Accept no other definition

of your life, accept only your

own; March to the beat you hear

within your head and heart.

Ignore the cadence,

the melody

of defeat

embrace

life

open

the window,

open it wide!

Opportunity

beckons, invite it in

kindly; turn the wheel of good

Fortune, define your life, accept it.

 

NaPoWriMo, Day 13  Prompt: A poem based on or using fortune cookie messages. I used the three above. I wrote another nonet with a reverse. (Doesn’t that sound like some kind of figure skating move? She did a nonet with a full reverse.)

 

8 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo: Defining Fortune

  1. A bit of synchronicity here: My fortune cookie today said: “Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.” I’m not sure I completely agree with this. The other side said “Learn Chinese.” I’ll pass on that!

  2. You are on a roll today! This is excellent. I know I have some fortune cookie fortunes around somewhere…
    I love the nonet form. Not sure what it is, but it always seems to work. (K)

  3. I just love it – the message and the form! More like a ballet move in my view … twirling and twirling! Maybe I’m thinking that because I saw Giselle the other day. Thanks Merril ..

Leave a Reply

