NaPoWriMo: Memories of Childhood Not My Own

The Egg and Bear sit side-by-side

conversing, no doubt, as best friends do.

They laugh and joke

and vanish to a secret site

though they remain in plain view

because that’s what Eggs and Bears do–

at least those of the stuffed kind.

 

This pair, companions, though three years apart,

once sang and talked at family dinners—

six of us at the table–

my husband, two daughters,

Humpty, Ahh Bear, and me.

They told us of their days in school, of being bullied by Carlie

(a bad egg through and through)

They were a bit uncool, the Egg and Bear, but nonetheless, endearing.

 

Is it odd that I remember their songs?

“Mrs. Mommy Goddess Protector,”

my favorite, of course.

I always felt a bit sorry for people

who didn’t have real stuffed friends,

not a Velveteen Rabbit story—

but truly real from the start.

 

Family car rides were never dull.

We tuned in the Egg and Bear radio station

and listened to Humpty and Ahh Bear

sing along to Les Miserables,

Ahh Bear cried as he sang Éponine’s

part in “A Little Fall of Rain”

and Humpty channeled Jean Valjean.

 

Well, we may have rocked with laughter

it’s true–

but still, a memory to be cherished

held close within my heart

as are these friends

who two little girls

took to the seashore

and later to college dorms.

 

No, they’re not forgotten, the Egg and Bear

though their voices are now

seldom heard aloud:

“Take it, Humps.” “OK, Ahhbs.”

In my head, I can hear their voices still

and memories of childhood, my children’s,

not my own, transport me for a moment to the past.

 

The Egg and Bear sit side-by-side,

forever in my mind.

 

NaPoWriMo, Day 18   Today’s Prompt: “a poem that incorporates ‘the sound of home’.”

I  wrote a free verse poem, using the Secret Keeper’s Weekly Writing prompt  Words: Plain/Laugh/Site/Rock/Secret

 

 

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo: Memories of Childhood Not My Own

  1. Favorite dolls and animals still speak in our house too (although not as often as they used to…). This one certainly provokes both memories and smiles. (K)

  2. A touching story. I didn’t discover the animals that hang all around our home until my partner introduced to her world where ‘Pine Tree’ & Dragon Green existed. I came on Velveteen Rabbit in my early twenties, when a romance left VR on my door step. But it really was in college when i met my first imaginary real stuffed animal named Froggy became my first love affair with an imaginary friend. He is still with me, though the cats like to drag him about sometimes. Always setting him up safely high. Your poem/story bring back the good memories. It is such well written pieceand very imaginative. – kiley 🌈❇🌠

    • Thanks so much, Kiley!
      Our cats don’t really bother the stuffed real animals, although I do remember one Froggy dragged downstairs (perhaps they are particularly appealing).
      Ahh Bear is living with us right now to keep him from our younger daughter’s dog.

      • Carter, the Prince of all the cats at the tender age of 3 years old on April 22nd. He is the main offender. He loves to play with the stuff ones and hugs them when he sleeps. And I am certain, Carter put Froggy into the nervous and disheveled state that he is in. I bear witness to his exceeding enthusiasm.

        Ahh Bear has a nemesis, also. Must protect at all costs. 😉

  3. Egg and Bear, very sweet! We had Seal and Zebra or as we thought of them, Susie and Zoe. Until the day a bit before time to leave for college when Zoe was accidentally thrown away in the trash. 😦 It’s still very sad.

    • Thanks so much, Marian.
      Did Joel have Frog and Toad animals, or just the books? I’ve thought the girls should write Egg and Bear stories. . .apparently Humpty is working on a memoir now. You might be able to give him some tips.

Leave a Reply

