NaPoWriMo: The Gull

Dedalo_assiste_alla_morte_di_icaro,_da_pompei,_9506

 

I watched him soar and glide so high

I watched his tumble to the sea

Enraptured he rose, longing to fly,

I watched him soar and glide so high

Feathery wings, wax-fastened, fluttered in the sky

But he was not a bird, he was not like me

I watched him soar and glide so high

I watched his tumble to the sea

 

NaPoWriMo, Day 21Β 

Challenge: β€œto write a poem in the voice of minor character from a fairy tale or myth. Instead of writing from the point of view of Cinderella, write from the point of view of the mouse who got turned into a coachman. Instead of writing from the point of view of Orpheus or Eurydice, write from the point of view of one of the shades in Hades who watched Eurydice leave and then come back.”

I wrote a triolet.

 

8 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo: The Gull

  1. Nicely done, understated myth-reference; and I can imagine a gull speaking in a triolet–just kind of driving home his point. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

