Passover Dessert Recipes

I had a request for recipes for the desserts I mentioned in the post about our Passover dinner. I’ve provided links to all of the recipes, since I did not create any of them. I also mentioned what I did with each one.

IMG_3740

Flourless Chocolate Cake: This is David Lebovitz’s Chocolate Idiot Cake.  I can’t take credit for it at all. It is super easy and delicious. The only thing I do differently is to add 1 Tbsp. espresso powder and 1 tsp. vanilla. I bake it at 325 for 1 hour, but maybe that is my oven.

 

IMG_3745

Coffee Meringues

Coffee Meringues from Amy Kritzer’s What Jew Wanna Eat

I follow her recipe, but add chocolate chips. I used mini-chips this time.  This time I also doubled the recipe. It does take quite a while to beat the egg whites—they must be very stiff. Follow her instructions.

 

IMG_3746

Almond-Lemon Macaroons

Almond-Lemon Macaroons  I used Joan Nathan’s recipe here.

I added the juice from half a lemon, and increased the sugar to 1 cup. You definitely have to refrigerate this for several hours. I rolled the balls in sugar, but I did not add the additional almond on top. I used a mixture of slivered and whole almonds, did not blanch.

I don’t have my younger daughter’s cheesecake or stewed dried fruit recipes. I know she made the cheesecake crust from packaged chocolate almond macaroons, to which she added a bit of butter. She has always liked d-e-s-s-e-r-t. 🙂

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Passover Dessert Recipes

  1. I have had flourless chocolate cake and it almost tastes like fudge! So delicious, Merril. I also would love to try in the future the coffee meringues which are sometimes available in a specialty bakery. I would like the sugar covered macaroons but would prefer not to have lemon in them. I am one who likes almond or vanilla cookies better than lemon. But, guess what inconsistency I have? I love lemon meringue pie! Silly Robin!

    • The cake is like fudge, Robin! The lemon cookies are great, but I imagine you could simply use vanilla extract instead of the lemon and/or perhaps some vanilla sugar? I love some lemon cakes and cookies, but I’m not actually a big fan of lemon meringue pie, so there you go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

