Words Remembered

A child’s first words,

delightful dawning

apperception of sounds

communication beyond smiles

and touch.

 

First words

followed by more,

sentence streams.

 

Sister talk,

talk and play,

play creating new worlds

from their imaginations.

The Barbies,

each with her own name

and personality

lined up on bathtub rim

they play there for hours,

creativity more than cleanliness,

whimsy in the water

(I’ll never know what “a cup of Margaret” is

but how marvelous the mystery that lingers.)

listening to them then

listening to them now,

both existing

like an overdubbing in my brain

the babbles turned to words

the words turned into essays

and then to college theses

words spoken and sung

at home

and on stages

(shy little girls becoming confident women with strong voices)

words that both girls now teach to others

and use in caring

words of love

words magical

words memorable

words spoken and unspoken

words lost in time

remembered in my heart

FullSizeRender 21

© Merril D. Smith 2016

 

This is in response to the The Secret Keeper’s Writing Prompt

This week’s words: child/talk/home/time/play

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Words Remembered

  1. You have strewn the path from babble to strong voice with lovely memories. I remember Crista’s first word after DaDa was “pretty,” as she beheld ornaments on our Christmas tree. A delightful dawning indeed.

  2. I’m at a loss for words so I’ll stick with the tried and true: Beautiful storytelling poem, Merril. You’ve brought back memories of my sons’ first words.

  3. This was so sweet and nostalgic, Merril. I am so happy to relive these moments with my grandchildren, like their parents I treasure their “first’s!” We went to a middle school orchestra concert which made me proud of my grandson playing a bass (like a cello) and when I attended to my granddaughter’s chorus concert, it cracked me up that my 9month old grandson was making singing sounds, high pitched humming and “oohing.” 😀

    • Thanks, Robin.
      We got to see our younger daughter’s middle school students perform a play last night. (She was the director.) It was fun to see her in that role as the teacher/director.

      • Oh, middle school theater is wonderful, Merril. How wonderful to experience it, with pride in your daughter’s directing! When I first taught, my classes were sixth graders (language arts), when I finished my career, it was integrated preschool with typically developing peers with children with special needs. Both periods were perfectly matched with my age and mindset. 🙂

      • It sounds like you had a teaching career that you really enjoyed.
        Our daughter directed a play in college, but this was the first time we saw her students perform.

Leave a Reply

