Artemis

'Silence,_Waterfall_and_Forest'_by_Arthur_Bowen_Davies,_Dayton_Art_Institute

 

In the cascade of tumbling water, I find peace

calm between the iridescent streams,

flowing like silver tresses rippling in the wind.

 

My beloved fawn keeps watch beside me

both of us seeking refuge in this place,

in the cascade of tumbling water, I find peace.

 

Once I longed to abandon my virgin state,

now, I hunt with arrows and bow, then rest

calm between the iridescent streams.

 

An eagle soars high above me, I think of him

he, gilded by moonlight, the grape vines heavy with fruit,

flowing like silver tresses rippling in the wind.

 

This is in response to Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge.

The challenge this week is a cascade poem. There is no rhyme scheme. The first line of the a three line verse becomes the last line of verse two; the second line become the last line of verse three, and the third line of verse one becomes the last line of the verse four. For a longer cascade poem, add more lines to the first verse.

The prompt this week was the picture above and these words: cascade/tresses/eagle/abandon/rippling

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Artemis

  1. Wow, Merril. I am so amazed at the way it not only follows the cascade form, it “sounds” like a gentle waterfall, cascading in the late spring, low-water form.

  2. Pingback: Poetry challenge Silent cascade: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

