Maidens, Beware

Heinrich_Vogeler_Sehnsucht_(Träumerei)_c1900

Heinrich Vogeler Sehnsucht, Trämerei, Wikipedia

Alone, forsaken, torn, my heart

pierced with the dart

that he tossed there.

Maidens, beware.

 

I’m round, weary, babe not yet born,

I’ll risk their scorn.

I’ll raise you well,

though time will tell

 

They say I’m loose, and call me whore,

but there was more,

my little Dove–

I thought it love.

 

This is in response to Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge . This week, a Minute Poem: 12 lines broken into 3 stanzas. Each stanza begins with a first line of 8 syllables, the next three lines are 4 syllables each. Rhyme scheme: aabb/ccdd/eeff

The prompt was the picture above. I don’t really think it has this feeling of despair, but I thought it had such a Victorian feel, so the woman became one of the seduced and abandoned young women of the time, pondering her fate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Maidens, Beware

  1. For me, there is hope throughout this poem. Not fanciful hope, but practical hope. She is grieving, not wallowing. Facing her next challenge, not cowering. Just my take on this wonderful story and character you have created. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I feel the same way, that she’s bravely trying to figure out how she’s going to live and support her child, despite the scorn of those around her.

  2. Merril, I like her calling her soon to be baby a “little dove” and the result of love. ❤ Sweet yet tragic, may have happened more often than we think, though.
    To me, maybe I shouldn't bring this up, it seems confusing about stanzas and syllables. Thank you for explaining this. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Poetry challenge Daybreak: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

  4. Unfortunately, in these times, labels often capture the motives/emotions that lead to actions, but here you’ve shown how labels completely ignore those emotions. People can be so quick to label, when, in fact, they might have found themselves in similar circumstances, given the fickleness of fate.
    This is very moving.

    • Thank you, Ken.
      You are right about people labeling and judging without really knowing or empathizing. I don’t think it’s a particular feature of current time, but we’re able to see more or faster because of social media–and also see things out of context.

Leave a Reply

