Through the Wormhole, or Go Ask Alice

Embed from Getty Images

 

 

Should you ever decide to visit a black hole,

fall perhaps, on your way in space

brace yourself, there could be sound

found there,

beware, oh!

No, not that you’d hear the song,

long as you might want to, but in space

bass notes aren’t heard at will

still, the black holes sing.

 

Those who study such things

(strings and theories and time)

minds more clever than my own,

tone academic, say space-time curves,

swerves, in a gravitational singularity.

 

But–

but should you survive,

alive, say after your starship takes a wrong turn,

learn this now,

somehow, look for the back door

for at its center

enter, and this leads to a wormhole.

 

There you’ll get “spaghettified”

Up-and-downsified, stretched, enlarged,

charged, or changed

rearranged, like Alice after she ate the cake,

mistake, or like the largest piece of pasta ever,

never say never, (I won’t judge) and then pushed whoop-de-doo

through the wormhole, You,

to another part of the universe.

 

I’d say, the sharpest trick ever,

whenever, yet not for me.

See, I prefer spaghetti to eat,

feet on ground, plate on table

stable, and able from there I

sigh, and gaze up high.

 

This is in response to Secret Keeper’s Writing Prompt

Using these words: Sound/Sharp/Clever/Judge/Still

I wrote an echo poem.

Here’s some information on “spaghettification”

And on the songs of black holes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Through the Wormhole, or Go Ask Alice

  1. This is tremendous, Merril. My mind locks in on phrases that make me want to stop and write and follow the threads. This was my favorite today: “…say after your starship takes a wrong turn, learn this now, somehow, look for the back door for at its center
    enter, and this leads to a wormhole.”
    SO many threads of ideas from this one, Merril. Thank you.

  2. You have given me much food for thought, Merril! I like space, movies of space and the idea of travelling through into other dimensions fascinates me.
    I had not thought of the stretching and pulling; one would possibly become “spaghettified!”
    I also loved the song reference to “Go Ask Alice,” Jefferson Airplanes song. 🙂

Leave a Reply

