Song of the Stars

Shadows_looking_at_stars

Jess Mann [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

 

I watched the stars as they danced by,

They glimmered brightly in the sky.

I heard their song, mellifluous,

I heard their song, I thought of us.

 

I heard the lap of river waves,

They touch the edge of muddy graves.

I thought of war and bloody fields,

I thought of death and broken shields.

 

But still your touch remains with me,

Though different skies and stars we see,

Come back to me, before too long,

To watch the stars, to hear their song.

 

This week for her poetry challenge, the ever creative Jane Dougherty asked us to concentrate on sound and meter. I’m not certain I succeeded, but here it is.

The prompt words were: Stars, night, and water. The image is the one above by Jess Mann.

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Song of the Stars

  1. Oh, how I hear the longing in these verses. I feel the sense of hope with sadness mixed in the fray. I hope the young man will return. . .
    Your poem is lovely and has a great rhythm. Yours had a great cadence. πŸ™‚
    There is a part of the beautiful movie, “Cold Mountain” in my thinking about war, widows and lovers. Have you ever seen this movie? I would recommend it, especially with the different, strong female characters in it, Merril.

    • Thank you. I’m glad I got across sadness and hope.
      I think we may have discussed Cold Mountain before. I did like the movie, though it’s been a long time since I’ve seen it. I remember really liking the book, and enjoying the parallels to the Odyssey, though I’m no expert. But I think it made it special to have the female point of view, too, and that they weren’t just sitting around waiting for the heroes to come home from war. That’s a timeless story, of course.

  2. Pingback: Poetry challenge Meter: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes

Leave a Reply

