Be a Helper and Rise

fred_rogers_late_1960s

By KUHT [CC0], via Wikimedia Commons

So the election has taken place, and the orange creature has been elected. HRC and President Obama reminded us of the rule of law in their gracious speeches. They reminded us to go high when DT has run a campaign based on lies and hatred, a campaign that has consistently gone low. They have been gracious in defeat, even though DT threatened not to accept the election results, if the vote had gone the other way. We’ve had eight years of class, intelligence, and caring, and it will take time to accept that many of my fellow Americans have chosen the opposite. It does not help when I see a ranting post by a Trump supporter (filled with factual and grammatical errors) saying everyone who voted for HRC should be put in jail. It only makes me think that I was correct in my statement that ignorance has triumphed, and we are in for four long years.

I am hoping I am wrong. Of course, I am hoping I am wrong!  I am hoping that rights will not be trampled on, that laws will not be overturned, and that our earth will not be destroyed by people who do not “believe in” science.  I am hoping that DT will say that his hate-filled speeches were jokes. I am hoping that ignorance will not rule.  Yes, I can hope. Perhaps someone will also give the president-elect a copy of the Constitution–or better yet read it to him, over and over again, since he has admitted to not reading very much, and it is evident that he does not understand how our government works. Yes, I have to accept that the reality TV star and failed businessman has been elected; I have to accept that so many voted for hate, but I do not have to like it.

Meanwhile, as Maya Angelou wrote:

“You may write me down in history

With your bitter, twisted lies,

You may trod me in the very dirt

But still, like dust, I’ll rise.”

Full text of the poem here. 

And as Mister Rogers said: “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.'”

I plan to look for the helpers–and I plan to be one. Join me.

 

Thanks to historian Ann M. Little for reminding me of the quote by Mr. Rogers.

And to Jane Dougherty, here’s to snarly women!  I can smile and snarl.

“I am woman, hear me roar.”

–Helen Reddy

 

 

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “Be a Helper and Rise

  1. Reblogged this on Ontheland and commented:
    If you are like me you may be struggling under the weight of the United States Election results. These words from Merril D. Smith offer humour, hope, and determination to continue being the world we believe in.

  2. Oh, I hear you roar, and I’m roaring right along with you. In my dance class today, a dozen women from 30s to 60s danced wild and free to songs about fighting for love, freedom, and finding helpers to make this world right. xo

  3. I loved the quotes and your positive outlook. I, too, will hope for the best, but it’s never a joke to be a racist or bigot, and he’s been those things even before campaigning for presidency.

  4. While my past life, the next day after elections I would be walking into a sane, kind and safe place. On Wednesday, I walked in the snake’s pit, Merril. Sneering faces who knew I and four other coworkers voted for Hillary, their simpering attitude of unbearable “I told you so!” I held my head up and made Mister Rogers and Maya Angelou proud. I was able to say, “We will take the high road!”
    I love the way there are several friends who are of “like” minds among the WordPress “community,” Merril.
    Now, please Mr. Trump, don’t incorporate Sarah Palin, since I can barely stand her!! I will never address Trump as President, since those who were disrespectful towards President Obama, did so by not treating him as our Leader, now got their buffoon into office!

    • I agree with everything you’ve said here, Robin. I’m glad you did not sink down to their level, but I think we all need to continue to be vigilant.
      Yes, I agree about Palin, but I think most, if not all, of the people he’s mentioned so far for his team and cabinet are horrible, horrible people.
      I had said to my son-in-law on election night that as much as disliked Bush, I respected the office of the president. With DT, that’s no longer true. I have no respect for him.

      • I agree with your comments, Merril. Nice to have you remind me that at least I didn’t sink to their level. This was very conforting! 🙂
        I recognized several names but am not as informed on other politicians outside my area. I respected John Kasich and thought his moderate position would have been “bearable.” My family is still appalled and speechless about DT.

Leave a Reply

