Moonstruck

 

samuel_palmer_-_kornfeld_im_mondenschein

Samuel Palmer, Kornfeld im Mondenschein,” [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

 

Before the dawn, I saw the moon,

her father nearby, he stood there forthright,

seeking her radiance, no, not immune

to her empyrean charm, her pale, silver light.

 

Her father nearby, he stood there forthright

with pride in the memory, he thought of her birth,

to her empyrean charm, her pale, silver light

flirting with shadows, brightening the earth.

 

With pride in the memory, he thought of her birth

as if in a trance, the twins, moon and sun

flirting with shadows, brightening the earth

timeless and time-bound, till time is done

 

I hear her humming, I hear the song,

seeking her radiance, no, not immune

to magic moonlight, in still-darkness of morn

before the dawn, I saw the moon.

 

A Pantoum for Secret Keeper’s Writing Challenge.

The prompt words were: Birth/Trance/Pride/Seek/Flirt

When I walked outside this morning to get the newspaper (support the press!), I was struck by the beauty of the bright sliver of moon with Jupiter by her side.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Moonstruck

  1. You’ve got to love a humming moon πŸ™‚ I took a photo of the super moon with my tin pot telephone camera and as well as the moon there’s a star just below it. Is that Jupiter then? I assumed it was Venus as she’s usually hovering on the skyline in the evening.

  2. Thanks for letting me know that the planet is Jupiter, Merril.
    I absolutely loved how you have a father who is protective of the moon, a female. This is so unique!
    I was enchanted by such beautiful words in your poem, “empyrean charm,” “radiance,” and the elements of “timeless” and “time bound.” The moon has its pull upon us, creating a magical attraction.

Leave a Reply

