In Flight: NaPoWriMo

 

I watch the birds from my kitchen window,

circling, gliding, floating,

a wondrous sky dance,

ancient patterns or improvised movements,

fluttery Bob Fosse jazz wings,

concentric circles form, intersect, break

to avian rhythms unheard

and movements unknown to us,

(mere humans)

I gaze, dreaming, wondering, thinking

what must it be like to rise so high

without fear of falling?

 

This is for NaPoWriMo, Day 5. The prompt was a poem on nature or the natural world. I used the Secret Keeper’s Weekly Writing Prompt words:Β Think/Rise/Rhythm/Float/Fall

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “In Flight: NaPoWriMo

  1. Merril, is every month NaPoWriMo for you? I mean, do you write a poem a day? I thought I was doing good to do that one month one time in my life. You are so inspiring! And so are the birds.

Leave a Reply

