My Love is Coming Home: NaPoWriMo

The flowers bloom upon the hill

and saplings perch beside the rill,

the robin sings his cheery trill,

my love is coming home

 

The sunlight streams through dappled trees,

chickadee whistles his happy reprise,

baby deer frolics in the gentle breeze,

my love is coming home

 

From distant shores will come a box

carried across the sea and over rocks,

you’ll rest amid the hollyhocks,

my love is coming home

 

The drum will play a rat tat tat,

the bugle’s Last Post after that,

somber faces and mourning hats,

my love is coming home

 

We should have danced a wedding tune,

but you have left me much too soon,

someday we’ll waltz beneath the moon,

my love is coming home

'Hollyhocks_and_Sunlight'_by_Charles_Courtney_Curran,_1902

Charles Courtney Curran,” Hollyhocks and Sunlight,” 1902 [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

This is for NaPoWriMo, Day 8. The prompt was repetition.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “My Love is Coming Home: NaPoWriMo

  1. Your beautiful poem did not seem like it was repetitive since you did a wonderful way of carrying it out, Merril. I like when a line is repeated in lyrics of a song, like a “chorus” or”refrain.” This refrain had me hopeful until his arrival in a box “carried across the sea and rocks.” The ending has some wishful dreaming of a future of dancing under the moon. I hope she will be held in his arms once again.

Leave a Reply

