Enchantment: NaPoWriMo

Fairy-queen,

silver moonlight drizzled in her hair,

glowing, gleaming in the night,

she dances unaware

of eyes transfixed by the sight,

a body stilled, by glance ensnared,

she twirls and whirls, entrancing sprite,

unable to move, he stays right there

bound, bewitched, until daylight

512px-Johann_Heinrich_Fuฬˆssli_058

Henry Fuseli [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

 

This is Day 12 of NaPoWriMo. The prompt was to use alliteration and assonance. I wrote a quadrille for dVerse that fits both prompts. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย The prompt word was “drizzle.”

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Enchantment: NaPoWriMo

  1. I like how you can picture a person, man transfixed by the beauty of a woman. โค
    Or, you of course, can picture "a body" (above and heavenly) which is above. The man in the moon has "eyes."
    Merril, this was such a dual purpose poem, where it could be fantasy or reality. All in the eyes of the beholder! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you very much for your interpretation, Robin. That’s what’s great about poetry–there are many interpretations. I hadn’t thought of it as the moon because, of course, the fairy was real. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Well, of course, I included reality in my dual purpose interpretation, Merril. ๐Ÿ™‚ Funny, but the moon leaving in the morning. . . (Your words) “bewitched, until daylight” . . . by setting probably would not have occurred to me had it not been a full moon post week! Yours, Dan’s, mine and many more full moon posts all week long . . . Timing is everything, I suppose.

    • I wrote this poem first. I was trying to think how to use “drizzle.” Then the image of the fairy queen in the moonlight popped into my head, and I went from there. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was going to publish it without a picture, but I thought I’d see if I could find one that fit.

Leave a Reply

