Rocks, Rivers, and Stars: NaPoWriMo

 

 

IMG_4251

Delaware River, National Park, NJ 

I stand at the river and watch the small waves break against the rocks, feel the ancient tidal rhythm. Hear its’ call. You dwelled here once, it says. I pick up a stone from the beach, rolling it about in my hand. Its’ hard surface is worn smooth by the water that has kissed it softly, repeatedly over time. Created thousands of years ago by heat, water, and air, this stone has journeyed along the river, till I, born of heat, too, and composed of water and minerals, worn by time, softened by kisses, pick it up.

 

World born in fire,

stellar dust swirls, drifts, and falls,

carried in our genes

speckles of cosmic magic

in my eyes gazing at you

 

This is Day 14 of NaPoWriMo. I’m off prompt today. I’ve written a haibun for Colleen Chesebro’s Weekly Poetry Challenge instead. The prompt words were hard and soft.

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Rocks, Rivers, and Stars: NaPoWriMo

  1. I am a person like you: enchanted by the heavenly skies and mystic bodies, finding the magic of water in rivers, sea and lakes slowly wearing down (kissing) the rocks and stones. The smooth stones and beach glass are on my kitchen shelf and in jars; as well as in pockets of my grandies. From clacking around in washer, oldest daughter first complaining, then retracting. She knows darn well how comforting they feel rolling between fingers, getting warmed in sun. . .
    Only part I am not sure I totally “have” are my eyes, with “speckles of cosmic magic.” What a truly lovely image, Merril. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Colleen’s Weekly #Poetry Challenge # 30 – Wish & Magic – Colleen Chesebro ~ Fairy Whisperer

Leave a Reply

