Magic Moons and Tides: NaPoWriMo

 

More magic moons that bring the tide

where mermaids swim and sirens sing,

but we sail on, for hope hasn’t died

 

in dreams, the sea is magnified

the tumbling waves with foam do fling

more magic moons that bring the tide

 

Death may come on horse bestride

to demonstrate that he is king

but we sail on, for hope hasn’t died

 

our love comes in waves, comes sparkling-eyed

as love-crazed, reverie, both unspring

more magic moons that bring the tide

 

so come, my darling, we must have tried

to play in our dreams, as we daily wring

more magic moons that bring the tide

but we sail on, for hope hasn’t died

1024px-Ilya_Repin-What_freedom!

Ilya Repin, “ What Freedom,” [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

A villanelle for Day 30, the last day of NaPoWriMo. I think this may be the first villanelle I’ve written.

Kerfe Roig (check out her latest  here  ) mentioned “more magic moons” in a comment to me, which gave me a prompt for this poem. Then the image above popped into my head. Jane Dougherty used it once for a microfiction prompt. So thank you both!

 

 

 

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Magic Moons and Tides: NaPoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Magic Moons and Tides: NaPoWriMo | Fantasy Sources: Art, Gifts, Ideas, Article Resources, News

  2. As you know, I love that image Jane gave us…and magic moons and tides are a perfect accompaniment. Thanks for the mention! This is such a beautiful poetic form too, it just sings. I don’t think I’ve tried it either, but I’ll put it in my form file. (K)

  3. I like how things or situations may batter us upon the seas of life, but hope hasn’t died. The two people all dressed up and waves splashing created a similar positive message, Merril.

Leave a Reply

