Star Spirit: Haibun

 

I am born with the stars, but I have always been. From a shadow world and through a smoky veil, I emerge, a shimmering spirit. A bang, a flash, and the universe expands, pitch-black, but filigreed with radiance. I skim the waves of space and time and dance to the humming music of the cosmos. Wherever I go, I leave a glow, light in the darkness. I travel in loops and streams, in and out of umbras, always and forever. See me, that flicker in the night sky–there and gone.

 

star spirit shimmers

darting, dancing joyfully

gilding the darkness

circling round suns, moons, and stars,

constant, timeless, eternal

 

512px-Karl_Schweninger_(attr)_Morgenstern

Attributed to Carl Schweninger der Jüngere, “Morgenstern,” [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

This haibun is for Colleen Chesebro’s weekly poetry challenge.  The prompt words were smoke and veil.

 

 

29 thoughts on “Star Spirit: Haibun

  1. Pingback: Colleen’s Weekly #Poetry Challenge # 35 – FAIRY & MAGIC – Colleen Chesebro ~ Fairy Whisperer

  2. I’m on my Saturday catch up visits, Merril. I love how you start by illustrating and describing the attributes of being a star spirit. Which is especially nice to imagine! This leads us into the haibun which uses two of my favorite words “gilding” and “eternal.” Who wouldn’t love to be able to hold the darkness? 🙂

Leave a Reply

