Blue Pony Dreams

Enchanting dawn slips

silently past the night,

and with her rosy lips

scatters her light

as she kisses the world awake.

Then—I ache

remembering my dreams

of blue ponies by incandescent streams.

I’ve seen them as I danced among the stars,

but in the light of day,

their world seems much too far away–

and yet–

I know, if never truly seen, still the ponies are there. . .

prancing, shining with blueish sheen, somewhere.

 

Franz Marc, “Blue Horses,”(Public Domain) Wikipedia Commons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is for dVerse, where Jilly asked us to write about “unseen.” Last week, Jane Dougherty reminded me about the blue horses. She knows they’re real, too.

 

 

 

 

38 thoughts on “Blue Pony Dreams

  1. Wow.. please… don’t wake me, don’t even shake me, days spent with feet that fidget, eyes that weep, until I can again join that galloping herd smoothly into a deep blue sleep.

    Simply deamkrastik!

  2. Pingback: scattered light | rivrvlogr

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.