This August or Another? Stuck in Time That Passes in a Flash

This August or Another? Stuck in Time that Passes in a Flash

1.
She says eat the cherries,
they’re yummy,
but as she sneezes,
and I look at the dirty bowl,
I don’t feel neighborly anymore.

2.
Promises are scattered,
like crumbs for fish
in the pond–
Gabby Giffords* is still fighting
for gun control

3.
My cat rubs with pleasure,
his chin to my chin
sleek-bodied, silky-furred,
he watches me with giant eyes
attentive as a mind-reader.

4.
At the precipice,
do we accept the inevitable,
or turn to stride through dust clouds
looking for the trail
marked “Love”?

5.
The air is electric,
we wait for an exciting answer
to the sky’s question–
lighting to thunder,
the illumination of mystery.

*Gabby Giffords is a former representative from Arizona who was shot in the head in January 2011 in a mass shooting that killed six people and injured others. She and her husband have become outspoken advocates for gun control.

Early morning brain-starter using Jane’s Random Words. This is perhaps not imagist enough to be a cadralor? I’m never certain.

31 thoughts on “This August or Another? Stuck in Time That Passes in a Flash

  1. We chose a lot of the same words, and we both had the scattered promises (and the cherries).
    I’d say it’s a cadralor. Each stanza is distinct. I think my favourite is the last one. It brings all the questions in the other stanzas to one final question, that nobody can answer. The mystery remains.

  2. Pingback: Announcing the Winner and Finalists of The Rooted and Winged Writing Contest | Luanne Castle's Writer Site

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.